Film Screening: “Daughter of the King”

 

“Net proceeds from the screening of the ‘Daughter of the King’ scheduled for September 24th, 7:00 p.m. at St. Clair College Capital Theatre will be directed to the United Way Campaign.” Says Darlene Smith-Kling, President of the Chatham Kent Women’s Centre. The Women’s Centre has recently joined the United Way family of agencies and is committed to helping the United Way Campaign achieve its 1.9 million dollar goal.

 

Daughter of the King is an independent dramatic film starring local Chatham actress Debra van Gaalen. The movie addresses the issues of human trafficking, prostitution and addiction and is being presented by the Chatham Kent Women’s Centre.  Cost is only $5.00 at the door. Donations to the United Way Campaign will be requested.

Red Feather Schedule

MONDAY SEP 15–2:00 p.m. 
SOFTBALL (BOYS/GIRLS) TOURNAMENTS- THAMES CAMPUS
$3 gate or Passport 

TUESDAY SEP 16–2:00 p.m.  *If Need Be
SOFTBALL (BOYS/GIRLS) TOURNAMENTS- THAMES CAMPUS AND BLYTHE PARK
$3 gate or Passport

TUESDAY SEP 16– 1:00 p.m. 
SR. BOYS VOLLEYBALL TOURNAMENT – ÉCOLE SECONDAIRE de PAIN COURT
$3 gate or Passport 

WEDNESDAY SEP 17– 4:00 p.m.
DODGEBALL – CHATHAM CHRISTIAN HIGH SCHOOL
$5 gate or Passport 

THURSDAY SEP 18 – 1:30 p.m.
SOCCER FEST – C- K COMMUNITY ATHLETIC COMPLEX
$3 gate or Passport 

THURSDAY SEP 18 – 7:00 p.m.
FOOTBALL GAME 1 – C- K COMMUNITY ATHLETIC COMPLEX
CKSS vs UCC
$8 gate or Passport 

SATURDAY SEP 20 –11:30a.m.
FOOTBALL GAME 2- C- K COMMUNITY ATHLETIC COMPLEX
BDHS vs JMSS
$8 gate or Passport 

SATURDAY SEP 20 – 2:30p.m.
ANIMAL HOUSE OLYMPICS – C- K COMMUNITY ATHLETIC COMPLEX
$3 gate or Passport 

SATURDAY, SEP 20- 6:30 p.m.
RED FEATHER’S GOT TALENT- UCC THEATRE
$10 gate or Passport *Limited seating available. Arrive Early*

 

EVERYDAY HEROES launch 2014 Campaign

EVERYDAY HEROES, Dean and Margery Muharrem, flew into action yesterday to kickoff United Way of Chatham-Kent’s 2014 fundraising
 campaign. The 2014 Campaign Co-chairs made stops in eight communities where they were joined by other EVERYDAY HEROES who stopped by to make “pacesetter” gifts. 

“We had such a wonderful time today visiting across Chatham-Kent and would especially like to thank local Tim Horton’s franchisee owners for sponsoring the tour” said Margery Muharrem.  “For months we have visited agencies, met with early donors and connected with many of the individuals and families your donations will help support.  Today we visited communities where those dollars make positive differences every day. Dean and I thank today’s volunteers and today’s Pacesetter donors for helping us get this campaign started”. 

Their trip around the municipality ended with a stop at “The 425” United Way Centre for Community Innovation where supporters, volunteers, agency representatives and donors gathered for the announcement of the overall Chatham-Kent goal.  Following a call to order by Town Crier George Sims, Board President Tony Walsh introduced Mayor Randy Hope, United Way of Chatham-Kent’s CEO Karen Kirkwood-Whyte and Co-Chairs Dean and Margery Muharrem. 

 The agenda ended with Dean making the following statement- “Many of you were adding quickly tonight and you realize the total of our overall goal at $1,900,000 is a bit higher than the combined community totals we’ve announced.  That is because the Campaign Cabinet is going to work together to find 150 new donors or EVERYDAY HEROES who will donate $365.00 – or a dollar a day for United Way – as an individual donor or an organization or even as a composite donation from a new group of donors. This is to focus on the fact that our more than 30 agencies, programs and services are working year round, 24/7 to service one in three residents in Chatham-Kent. 

We believe it is very important to meet our goal, and are confident that it can be achieved by the creation of this new level of giving … the EVERYDAY HERO. We are personally aware of the increased need for additional programs and services and of the tremendous efforts our funded agencies are making to help. Tonight, we are calling on our communities, our previous donors and new EVERYDAY HEROES to help us reach our campaign goal.

Because after all…It’s a great day to change lives!”

For additional information or to find out how you can become involved with the 2014 campaign contact Chatham-Kent Co-Chairs for 2014 Dean and Margery Muharrem

 

(519) 436-5674 dean.muharrem@sunmedia.ca (519) 784-2511 muharrem@sympatico.ca. Reach United Way Chatham-Kent at info@uwock.ca or contact David Drouillard at (519) 354-0430 or david@uwock.ca

 

VOLUNTEER COMMUNITY CABINET – WITH 2014 GOALS

 

Chatham- Kent Chairs are Dean Muharrem dean.muharrem@sunmedia.ca and Margery Muharrem muharrem@sympatico.ca
CHATHAM-KENT GOAL FOR 2014 is $1,900,000 

Chatham Region Co-Chairs are Adam Ludolph adam.ludolph@investorsgroup.com and Eric Stemmler eric.stemmler@investorsgroup.com
Chatham Region Goal is $1,317,711 

Wallaceburg Region Chair is Newt Richardson drichard@kent.net
Wallaceburg Region Goal is $110,174 

Dresden Region Co-Chairs are Virginia Smith virginia.smith@sunmedia.ca and Nicole Alves nicole.alves@sunmedia.ca
Dresden Region Goal is $91,000 

Thamesville Region Co-Chairs are Joe Presutto jpresutto@mainstreetcu.ca and Tara Lee Berry taralee.berry@bmo.com
Thamesville Region Goal is $9,144 

Bothwell Region Co-Chairs are Bruce Miller Bruce.Miller@bmo.com and Greg Cameron greg.cameron@bmo.com
Bothwell Region Goal is $15,150 

Ridgetown Region Chair is Caress Lee Carpenter caresslee@hotmail.com
Ridgetown Region Goal is $44,976 

Blenheim Region Co-Chairs are Tony Rizzuto tony@blenheimchev.com and Jason Heuvelmans Jason@blenheimchev.com
Blenheim Region Goal is $146,479 

Tilbury Region Chair is Deb Moysiuk debmoysiuk@cogeco.ca
Tilbury Region Goal is $110,616       

Everyday Heroes
Goal is $54,750